SunBengSitting

Simon Mayer/Kopf Hoch

Austria
Sa 15.10.2022, 9:00 PMBuy tickets T-Werk, Schiffbauergasse 4 E Price category A (21 euros / concessions 14 euros / pupils 9 euros) Dance performance, 70 minutes, some spoken German

In Upper Austrian dialect, a ‘Sunbeng’ is a sunny bench in front of the house. In this performance, differences in life between town and countryside, home and abroad, oppression and freedom are examined. SunBengSitting seeks to liberate a genre that is suspected of being even more narrow-minded than ballet: folk dance. With a whip and a chainsaw, Simon Mayer sets out to dust off this popular tradition and free it of ideological weight and outdated images of masculinity. This sometimes archaic and brutal, sometimes heartwarming and comic performance stretches back from the present to the time when naked fauns were believed to roam the forests.


Simon Mayer studied at the Vienna State Opera Ballet Academy and the Performing Arts Research and Training Studios (P.A.R.T.S.) in Brussels; he is also a former member of the Vienna State Ballet. As a dancer, choreographer and musician, he has appeared in productions by Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas (The Song), Wim Vandekeybus (Frisking) and Zita Swoon, among others. In 2017, he received the Outstanding Artist Award from the Federal Chancellery of Austria. He founded Kopf Hoch as an association of artists and technicians who have worked regularly with him in recent years.

A coproduction with Kopf Hoch/Simon Mayer, brut Wien, FREISCHWIMMER 2014/15, Im_flieger

Supported by Elio Gervasi/raum 33, ROSAS, Kunstencentrum BUDA, shareyourdarlings Plattform, the Austrian Province of Upper Austria, the Office of the Federal Chancellor, the Austrian Cultural Forum in Brussels, the Capital Cultural Fund and the Governing Mayor of Berlin – Senate Chancellery – Cultural Affairs

Thanks to Kulturverein SPIEL, Trachtenverein Altstädter Bauerngmoa, die Goaßschnalzer Munderfing, Pramtaler Volkstanzgruppe, Fam. Mayer, Christian Schmeiser, Josef Schild, Jan Maria Lukas

Performance, Artistic Direction, Music Simon Mayer Sound & Live-Loop Pascal Holper Lighting design Lucas Gruber, Hannes Ruschbaschan Artistic guidance Frans Poelstra Technical director, lighting design (tour) Jeroen Smith Production creation Sophie Schmeiser Touring production Hiros, Kopf Hoch Photos Florian Rainer

Ensembles


ERSATZ
AÏE AÏE AÏE – France
Dimanche
Cie Focus & Cie Chaliwaté – Belgium
Les Arrière-Mondes
Cie Mossoux-Bonté – Belgium
Le Mains de I’Argentière
Djalma Primordial Science – France
KAR
Fekete Seretlek & Studio Damúza – Czech Republic
Babel
LOD/Steve Salembier – Belgium
Who’d have thought that snow falls
Matthias Schönijahn – Germany/Ukraine
Celestial Odyssey
Miltnerová/Knoblochová/Komárek – Czech Republic
Good Night
PRAGAMATA – Germany
Being Moved
Simon Mayer/Kopf Hoch – Austria
SunBengSitting
Simon Mayer/Kopf Hoch – Austria
Madness in the workshop
Tof Théâtre – Belgium
Concert
Fekete Seretlek – Czech Republic
Concert
KAMA Orchestra – Germany

Contact

Address

T-Werk, Internationales Theater- und Theaterpädagogikzentrum
Schiffbauergasse 4 E, 14467 Potsdam, Germany

Telefon

Phone: +49 331 73042626
Fax: +49 331 73042633

SunBengSitting

Simon Mayer/Kopf Hoch

Österreich
Sa 15.10.2022, 21:00 UhrTicket kaufen T-Werk, Schiffbauergasse 4 E Preisgruppe A: 21 Euro / erm. 14 Euro / SchülerIn 9 Euro (Abendkasse: +2 Euro) Tanzperformance, 70 Min., mit geringem deutschen Sprachanteil

Im oberösterreichischen Dialekt ist die „Sunbeng“ die Bank in der Sonne vor dem Hof. Hier wird das Leben zwischen Stadt und Land befragt, zwischen Heimat und Fremde, Unterdrückung und Freiheit. „SunBengSitting“ widmet sich der Befreiung eines Genres, das unter noch größerem Engstirnigkeitsverdacht steht als das Ballett: dem Volkstanz. Mit Peitsche und Motorsäge macht sich Simon Mayer auf, dieses volkstümliche Brauchtum von allem ideologischen Ballast und überholten Männlichkeitsbildern zu entstauben. Dabei reicht diese mal archaisch-brachiale, mal herzerwärmend-komische Performance von der Gegenwart bis in jene Zeit zurück, als im Wald noch mit nackten Faunen gerechnet werden musste.


Simon Mayer studierte an der Ballettakademie der Wiener Staatsoper, den Performing Arts Research and Training Studios (P.A.R.T.S.) in Brüssel und war Mitglied des Wiener Staatsballetts. Als Tänzer, Choreograph und Musiker war er unter anderem in Produktionen von Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker/Rosas („The Song“), Wim Vandekeybus („Frisking“) und Zita Swoon zu sehen. 2017 erhielt er den „outstanding artist award“ des Bundeskanzleramts Österreich. Kopf Hoch ist ein von Simon Mayer ins Leben gerufener Verein, der für eine Gruppe von KünstlerInnen, TechnikerInnen und KulturarbeiterInnen steht, die in den letzten Jahren regelmäßig mit Simon Mayer zusammengearbeitet haben.

Koproduktion von Kopf Hoch/Simon Mayer, brut Wien, FREISCHWIMMER 2014/15 und Im_ flieger

Unterstützt von Elio Gervasi/raum 33, ROSAS, Kunstencentrum BUDA, shareyourdarlings Plattform, Land Oberösterreich, Bundeskanzleramt, Österreichisches Kulturforum Brüssel, Hauptstadtkulturfonds und der Regierende Bürgermeister von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten

Dank an Kulturverein SPIEL, Trachtenverein Altstädter Bauerngmoa, Goaßlschnalzer Munderfing, Pramtaler Volkstanzgruppe, Fam. Mayer, Christian Schmeiser, Josef Schild, Jan Maria Lukas

Performance, Regie, Musik Simon Mayer Sound, Live-Loop Pascal Holper Lichtdesign Lucas Gruber, Hannes Ruschbaschan Künstlerische Beratung: Frans Poelstra Technische Leitung, Lichtkonzept (Tour) Jeroen Smith Produktion Sophie Schmeiser Tourmanagement Hiros, Kopf Hoch Fotos Florian Rainer

Ensembles


ERSATZ
AÏE AÏE AÏE – Frankreich
Dimanche
Cie Focus & Cie Chaliwaté – Belgien
Hinterwelten
Cie Mossoux-Bonté – Belgien
Die Hände von l'Argentière
Djalma Primordial Science – Frankreich
KAR
Fekete Seretlek & Studio Damúza – Tschechien
Babel
LOD/Steve Salembier – Belgien
Who’d have thought that snow falls
Matthias Schönijahn – Deutschland/Ukraine
Himmlische Odyssee
Miltnerová/Knoblochová/Komárek – Tschechien
Gute Nacht
PRAGMATA – Deutschland
Being Moved
Simon Mayer/Kopf Hoch – Österreich
SunBengSitting
Simon Mayer/Kopf Hoch – Österreich
Madness in the workshop
Tof Théâtre – Belgien
Konzert
Fekete Seretlek – Tschechien
Konzert
KAMA Orchestra – Deutschland

Kontakt

Anschrift

T-Werk, Internationales Theater- und Theaterpädagogikzentrum
Schiffbauergasse 4 E, 14467 Potsdam

Telefon

Fon: +49 331 73042626
Fax: +49 331 73042633