Foreign body_trio

Howool Baek

Germany/South Korea
We 01.09.2021, 7:00 PMBuy tickets Th 02.09.2021, 7:30 PMBuy tickets fabrik, Schiffbauergasse 10 Price category A: 21 euros / reductions 16 euros / pupils 10 euros (Evening box office +2 euros) Sound and dance performance, 55 min, nonverbal

Strange anatomies. Three bodies dismpt stereotypical images with their unusual physical shapes. Sometimes bony, sometimes seeming spineless, they transform into giant birds with wing stumps, fidgeting crabs, exhausted insects or archaic quadrupeds. Foreign bodies emerge – unfamiliar misfits, unprotected and always confronted with distrust and rejection. Accompanied by a live, almost hypnotic soundscape of percussion and electronics, Foreign body_trio unfolds the potential for movement and expression of individual physicalparts, thereby challenging the meaning and perception of strangeness in our society.



Howool Baek is a South Korean choreographer who lives in Berlin and found her way into professional training at the Incheon City College in Korea after dancing to K-Pop and Hip-Hop. Her works deal with questions of perception and the human body’s possibilities for movement and expression. She works very consistently and concentratedly, for example by limiting herself to a narrow space or to the movement and expression of individual body parts. The Austrian composer and sound designer Matthias Erian and the choreographer Howool Baek have worked together as a perfect team for over ten years.

Supported by Expo Festival Berlin

Concept, Choreography: Howool Baek · Movement research, interpretation: Nicole Michalla, Lorenzo Savino, Shoko Seki · Sound design, live interpretation: Matthias Erian · Lighting: Hendrik Haupt · Photos: Jerun Vahle

Kindly supported by fabrik Potsdam

Sponsored by the NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ, Guest Performance Fund for Dance, which is funded by Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, the Ministries of Culture and the Arts of the German Länder

Ensembles


ERSATZ
AÏE AÏE AÏE – France
Dimanche
Cie Focus & Cie Chaliwaté – Belgium
Les Arrière-Mondes
Cie Mossoux-Bonté – Belgium
Le Mains de I’Argentière
Djalma Primordial Science – France
KAR
Fekete Seretlek & Studio Damúza – Czech Republic
Babel
LOD/Steve Salembier – Belgium
Who’d have thought that snow falls
Matthias Schönijahn – Germany/Ukraine
Celestial Odyssey
Miltnerová/Knoblochová/Komárek – Czech Republic
Good Night
PRAGAMATA – Germany
Being Moved
Simon Mayer/Kopf Hoch – Austria
SunBengSitting
Simon Mayer/Kopf Hoch – Austria
Madness in the workshop
Tof Théâtre – Belgium
Concert
Fekete Seretlek – Czech Republic
Concert
KAMA Orchestra – Germany

Contact

Address

T-Werk, Internationales Theater- und Theaterpädagogikzentrum
Schiffbauergasse 4 E, 14467 Potsdam, Germany

Telefon

Phone: +49 331 73042626
Fax: +49 331 73042633

Foreign body_trio

Howool Baek

Deutschland/Südkorea
Mi 01.09.2021, 19:00 UhrTicket kaufen Do 02.09.2021, 19:30 UhrTicket kaufen fabrik, Schiffbauergasse 10 Preisgruppe A: 21 Euro / erm. 16 Euro / SchülerIn 10 Euro (Abendkasse: +2 Euro) Klang-Tanz-Performance, 55 Min., nonverbal

Fremdartige Anatomien. Drei Körper sprengen mit ungewöhnlichen physischen Formen stereotype Körperbilder. Mal knochig, mal scheinbar wirbellos, verwandeln sie sich in Riesenvögel mit Flügelstummeln, in zappelnde Krebse, erschöpfte Insekten oder archaische Vierfüßler. Fremdkörper, unvertraut, unpassend, ungeschützt und immer mit Misstrauen und Ablehnung konfrontiert. Untermalt von einem live erzeugten, fast hypnotischen Sound aus Percussion und elektronischen Klanglandschaften entfaltet „Foreign body_trio“ das Bewegungs- und Ausdruckspotential einzelner Körperteile und hinterfragt dabei die Bedeutung und Wahrnehmung von Fremdheit in unserer Gesellschaft.


Howool Baek ist eine in Berlin lebende südkoreanische Choreografin, die durch K-Pop und Hip-Hop den Weg zu ihrer professionellen Tanzausbildung am Incheon City College in Südkorea fand. Ihre Arbeiten behandeln Fragen der Wahrnehmung sowie der Bewegungs- und Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten des menschlichen Körpers. Dabei arbeitet sie sehr konsequent und konzentriert, indem sie sich beispielsweise auf einen engen Raum oder auf Bewegungs- und Ausdruckspotential einzelner Körperteile beschränkt. Der österreichische Komponist und Sound-Designer Matthias Erian und die Choreographin Howool Baek sind seit über zehn Jahren ein eingespieltes Team.

Unterstützt vom Expo Festival Berlin

Konzept, Choreografie: Howool Baek · Bewegungserarbeitung, Interpretation: Nicole Michalla, Lorenzo Savino, Shoko Seki · Ton, Livemusik: Matthias Erian · Licht: Hendrik Haupt

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der fabrik Potsdam

Gefördert durch das NATIONALE PERFORMANCE NETZ Gastspielförderung Tanz, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, sowie den Kultur- und Kunstministerien der Länder

Ensembles


Las Hermanas Verán
Andrea Cruz Company – Spanien
As long as it burns
Andrea Salustri – Deutschland/Italien
Crash
BOT – Niederlande
WORK
Cie Claudio Stellato – Belgien
This work about the orange
Cie Les 3 Plumes – Frankreich/Italien
Vu
Cie Sacékripa – Frankreich
Meine Name ist Hor
Companyia PSiRC – Spanien
Schiele
Ferenc Fehér – Ungarn
Medea
Hallimasch Komplex – Deutschland/Österreich
Foreign body_trio
Howool Baek – Deutschland/Südkorea
Kunstpause
KOMBINAT – Deutschland
An unstable air
Laurent Bigot – Frankreich
Echo of an End
Li Kemme – Deutschland
Hybridation
Olivier de Sagazan – Frankreich
Nettles
Trickster-p – Schweiz
Konzert
Bobby Rausch – Deutschland

Kontakt

Anschrift

T-Werk, Internationales Theater- und Theaterpädagogikzentrum
Schiffbauergasse 4 E, 14467 Potsdam

Telefon

Fon: +49 331 73042626
Fax: +49 331 73042633